South Africa cricket board logo-tecake

Like all other cricket playing nations, South Africa Cricket Control Board also declared their 15-member squad for World Cup 15. AB de Villiers leads the team South Africa. Their crew seems very well balanced in all the three departments. The batting will be handled by the Hashim Amla along with Farhaan Behardien, Faf du Plessis, JP Duminy and itself by their captain. Power hitter David Miller known will also join them in batting. Quinton de Knock, who was injured in last month’s first test against Carribeans, also got a place in the side.

The bowling attack looks like very attractive and scary considering the bouncy pitches of Australia and New Zealand which includes Dale Steyn, Vernon Philander, Morne Morkel, Wayne Parnell known for their pace. Parnell can be dangerous in death overs when it comes to bowling yorkers. Left- arm spinner Aaron Phangiso and leg-spinner Imran Tahir were also included in the team to put control in runs in middle overs.

Probably, Rilee Rossouw was set to surprise selections in CWC 15 who made his debut in the series against West Indies last month. Selectors showed trust on him and rated very highly who started his career in an ordinary manner to come into the side for most awaiting tournament World Cup 15. Ryan Mclaren and Lonwabo Tsotsobe also succeeded to make a place inside as an option in bowling pace department.

Overall, South African seems very balanced team in World Cup 15. They will start their campaign against Zimbabwe in Hamilton in World Cup on Feb 15, 2015. Dale Steyn said that their team have to work hard. South Africa has never won World Cup and wants to won World Cup first time.

Squad :

AB de Villiers (captain), Hashim Amla (vice-captain), Kyle Abbott, Farhaan Behardien, Quinton de Kock, JP Duminy, Faf du Plessis, Imran Tahir, David Miller, Morne Morkel, Wayne Parnell, Aaron Phangiso, Vernon Philander, Rilee Rossouw, Dale Steyn.

Tags: , ,

Around the World