Saina Nehwal and Carolina to participate in Syed Modi GP Badminton event


Defending Champion Saina Nehwal and World Champion Carolina Marin have decided to participate in the Syed Modi International Badminton Championship that is planned to commence on January 20, 2015. Both of them have been ranked first and second respectively in USD 120,000 event organised by Uttar Pradesh Badminton Association (UPBA) under the supervision of Badminton Association of India (BAI) at BBD UP Badminton Academy Gomti Nagar.

UP Chief Secretary along with and President of UP Badminton Association and organizing committee said that this time, it would be more exciting and interesting for fans to see world’s top two seed players in action in the Lucknow that is also known as ‘City of Nawabs’. It would be enough for fans to watch this two badminton stars in the women’s single category. Tournament and Organising Secretary Vijai Sinha said that the third-seeded Indian star PV Sindhu would be participating in the Championship, which will give more thrilling experience to fans. Her presence would surely make stimulating environment on the field for everyone present in the Championship.

As per the schedule declared by Badminton World Federation, Saina would be starting her campaign against Malaysia’s Yin Fun Lim and on the other side, Carolina will face Indian shuttler Gadde Ruthvika Shivani in her opening match for first round.

In men’s category, top-seeded in this tournament K Srikanth, who belongs to India and Bronze Medalist Viktor Axelsen of Denmark who is ranked second in this tournament after Srikanth would be the center of attractions. The qualifying round will start on January 20, and the main draw matches will be played on January 21. The finale, to become a champion, will take place on January 25. Bulgaria’s Pencho Stoynov has been appointed as Chief Referee of the event whereas Malaysia’s Anthony Linggian would be his assistant.

Senior Cabinet Minister Shival Singh Yadav will inaugurate this championship. Food and Civil Supplies Minister Raghu Raj Pratap Singh Raja Bhaiyya Shri would also be present as a guest along with President of BAI Akhilesh Das Gupta. Chief Minister Akhilesh Yadav will be present on January 25, 2015 for the prize distribution ceremony.

Around the World

Add Comment

Click here to post a comment

You Might Also Like