Space

ISS spacewalk series will be viewed on October 5

The International Space Station is gearing up for its next spacewalks series (three in total) which is scheduled to start from October 5. Three American astronauts present at the ISS will perform the first of the three spacewalks on October 5 and the next two spacewalks will be done on October 10 and October 18.

Expedition 53 Commander Randy Bresnik of NASA is going to lead all the three spacewalks. Flight Engineer Mark Vande Hei of NASA will accompany Bresnik on October 5 and October 10 and then on October 18, Bresnik will be joined by Flight Engineer Joe Acaba of NASA for the third and final spacewalk. The main goal of performing such type spacewalks is to perform space station maintenance.

On October 5, both Bresnik and Vande Hei will venture outside the orbiting library to replace one of the two end effectors fitted on the Canadarm2 robotic arm. Then in the second and third spacewalk, they will lubricate the newly placed Canadarm 2 end effector and then replace the two cameras, one on the left side of the station’s truss and the other on the right side of the station’s U.S. Destiny laboratory. Spacewalk events always excite young scientists and space enthusiasts, and for this reason, NASA always telecasts these events on its TV channel named NASA TV.

The live coverage of Thursday’s spacewalk will begin on NASA TV at 6:30 a.m. EDT (10:30 UTC) and the spacewalk will itself begin at approximately 8:05 a.m. EDT (12:05 UTC). But there is a chance of an earlier start to spacewalk if the crew runs ahead of schedule. Mark Vande Hei was really excited for this upcoming spacewalk event and tweeted a picture regarding what they would be working on. He said that he, along with Bresnik, is going to change the end effector present on the robotic arm of the posted picture.

Around the World

Add Comment

Click here to post a comment

You Might Also Like