IPL 2020 Is About to Start — Which Teams to Watch Out For?

CWC15 indian cricket team tecake

The Indian Premier League 2020, or the IPL 13, is scheduled to start on September 19 and will last until November 10. It’s the most-watched cricket event in the world. Thanks to its popularity, the IPL found its place among the top ten most followed sports leagues worldwide.

This year’s IPL will be held in the United Arab Emirates, with eight best cricket teams participating — the Chennai Super Kings, Rajasthan Royals, Mumbai Indians, Royal Challengers Bangalore, Kolkata Knight Riders, Sunrisers Hyderabad, Kings XI Punjab, and Delhi Capitals.

As the start of the IPL 13 approaches, avid cricket punters worldwide are heavily invested in predicting who will win this edition of the Indian Premier League. If you can’t watch the game, note that some online bookmakers provide live cricket scores. That way, you can follow the games and be aware of the outcomes.

Below, we have mentioned some of the most prominent IPL teams that will have to go head-to-head to win the famous trophy. Will the Mumbai Indians manage to hold the reins or will their rivals overthrow them — we’ll have to wait and see. For now, we can only speculate and try to predict the winner.

Chennai Super Kings (CSK)

When talking about team performance and consistency, we can say that the Chennai Super Kings are the masters. Even though they don’t have the most IPL wins, they have participated in the tournament eight times, played in six finals, and won twice. They have even reached the final last season but lost it to their biggest rivals, the Mumbai Indians.

CSK has participated four consecutive times in final matches of the IPL, from 2010 to 2013. During that time, and even today, the team hasn’t gone through many changes. The core team has remained the same — Mohit, Raina, Hussey, Jadeja, Vijay, Ashwin, Bravo, Badrinath, Albie, Morkel and are led by the fantastic MS Dhoni.

With their consistent performance and MS Dhoni’s strong leadership, the Chennai Super Kings are the ones to watch out for.

Mumbai Indians (MI)

The Mumbai Indians are the reigning champions and the team with the most IPL wins. They have four Indian Premier League titles, and we can only say that they are on a roll. Their first win came only in 2013, which is, according to some cricket aficionados, a bit late. Nevertheless, every other year, they have been annihilating their opponents and taking the trophy home.

Their captain, Rohit Sharma, managed to lead them to victory four times, and it seems they are ready to take the fifth one as well. Over the years, MI has managed to bring in some amazing talents — from Pandya brothers, Yadav, Kishan, Bumrah to Lynn, Malinga, and Pollard.

While we can’t predict the outcome, we know that the Mumbai Indians won’t give up the title easily.

Royal Challengers Bangalore (RCB)

The RCB have been in the finals three times, but they still haven’t been crowned IPL champions. Their most prominent players are de Villiers, Kohli, and Gayle, who usually carry out most of the games alone. Hopefully, we will see a more cohesive team play this year, as we believe that’s the key to winning this world-renowned title.

Kohli is, without a doubt, one of the best batsmen in the world at the moment, and hopefully, this year will be the one when he leads his team to triumph.

Rajasthan Royals (RR)

After an astonishing win in the inaugural season, the Rajasthan Royals have yet to claim the IPL trophy. Their performance has been consistent; however, they have missed some crucial points.

This season, they created a strong team with some of the best international players, including Ben Stokes, captain Steve Smith, Jofra Archer, Andrew Tye. But we also can’t ignore Jaydev Unadkat, Sanju Samson, Robin Uthappa — players who have a lot to bring to the table and hopefully help the team finally win the IPL trophy.

About the author

Rishabh Rajvanshi

Rishabh, with six years of experience in the newspaper industry, has co-founded The TeCake in 2013. Apart from writing and editing articles on Technology at The TeCake, he also contributes to other esteemed newspapers.

Add Comment

Click here to post a comment

You Might Also Like