Tech

Facebook confirms ‘Privacy’ notice to protect your data is a hoax

Facebook Privacy Hoax

A new Facebook Privacy Notice scam is once again making the users anxious. The post says that all of the posts from the users will go public, however, the social media giant on Tuesday has confirmed that the notice is fake and it is just a hoax. The website has issued a fact-check statement which tells users not to share the message.

The message, which has been copy-pasted by users judiciously, and shared on Facebook, urges their friends to paste the same on their timeline as well. The post asks users to copy paste the notice on their timeline to ‘protect’ their content from Facebook. As the firm is now a publicly traded company, which could make all the posts from a user, public.

Facebook has clarified by telling users that their privacy settings are still valid, and the legal sounding message won’t really help.

“You may have seen a post telling you to copy and paste a notice to retain control over things you share on Facebook. Don’t believe it. Our terms say clearly: You own all of the content and information you post on Facebook, and you can control how it’s shared through your privacy and application settings. That’s how it works, and this hasn’t changed. You can visit Privacy Basics to find out more about who sees what you share on Facebook and other topics. You can also read the Data Policy to find out what information we collect and how it is used and shared. We want you to be informed and in control of your experience on Facebook.”

The hoax has come to light several times in the past couple of years: 2012, 2014, and even 2015.

The notice reads like this, “I do not give Facebook or any entities associated with Facebook permission to use my pictures, information, or posts, both past and future. By this statement, I give notice to Facebook it is strictly forbidden to disclose, copy, distribute, or take any other action against me based on this profile and/or its contents. The content of this profile is private and confidential information. The violation of privacy can be punished by law (UCC 1-308- 1 1 308-103 and the Rome Statute).
NOTE: Facebook is now a public entity. All members must post a note like this. If you prefer, you can copy and paste this version. If you do not publish a statement at least once it will be tactically allowing the use of your photos, as well as the information contained in the profile status updates. DO NOT SHARE. copy and paste.”

The hoax is another example of false messages that seek to exploit user worry about privacy on Facebook. The social media site provides and an option to choose whether to post as pubic or private, out of which users choose some content public on Facebook and conversely, there are settings which won’t show the data to anyone.

In privacy settings, Facebook allows its users to choose ‘only me’ as one of such options for posts, photos, links etc published on the timeline.

Previously, an another hoax has gone viral on WhatsApp, apart from this Facebook privacy hoax. The message that has spread around the world suggested that folks must use WhatsApp accounts which are inactive for a long time as the company has a large number of users and it will deactivate such accounts.

IN order to prove that their account it active the message asks the users to forward the message to ten friends. Of course, WhatsApp has no such plans of shutting down accounts of users, and should you get this message, you should probably not go on sharing it.

Facebook, WhatsApp owned by facebook and other such platforms are public companies and they won’t change their privacy policies without any OFFICIAL notice.

About the author

Rishabh Rajvanshi

Rishabh, with six years of experience in the newspaper industry, has co-founded The TeCake in 2013. Apart from writing and editing articles on Technology at The TeCake, he also contributes to other esteemed newspapers.

Add Comment

Click here to post a comment

You Might Also Like