The Bangladesh selectors chose their warriors for the most awaiting cricket tournament, World Cup’15. Soumya Sarkar who played only one ODI for Bangladesh last month in the series against Zimbabwe got a chance for his all-round abilities in the domestic cricket, especially in the Dhaka Premier Division League by the Bangladesh selectors in their 15-member squad for the tournament.

Nasir Hossain and Taskin Ahmed also got chance after not getting selected in the ODI series against Zimbabwe.

Bangladesh squad led by Mashrafe Mortaza clean swept his first five match series as a captain. Sakib Al Hasan gave him support as his deputy, as he played a role of vice-captain.

Chief Selector Faruque Ahmed who also chose Bangladesh squad for the World Cup’07 told that the squad was selected with practical goals to make into next round as their team will defeat Afghanistan and Scotland and at least one of the among teams – Australia, NewZealand, England and Sri Lanka. He picked those players who can sustain in the conditions of Australia and New Zealand and are in the form recently for Bangladesh. Farque said, “We wanted seasoned campaigners although we haven’t picked [Abdur] Razzak. Those who have replaced him have played domestic cricket for a long time and are with the team for the last 12 months.”

He also added, “Soumya is a utility player who can bat at the top order and his medium-pace bowling also can be handy in Australia-New Zealand. We thought that it would be a risk to include Likhon [Jubair Hossain] in the squad and we have picked three left-arm spinners in the past, and we have been successful against middle and lower-ranking teams.”

BCB selected three openers Tamim Iqbal, Anamul Haque and Sarkar for their team as alternatives and five seamers Mashrafe, Sarkar, Taskin Ahmed, Al-Amin Hossain and Rubel Hossain as an option for available bouncing pitches in the Australia and New Zealand. Mashrafe, Tamim, Shakib Al Hasan and Mushfiqur Rahim will make their appearance for the third time in World Cup squad and Rubel Hossain with Mahmudullah have been included in the for team second time. They retained Sabbir Rahman and Taijul Islam who made their ODI debut against Zimbabwe. Sabbir played some T20 for their side in 2k14 and Taijul showed his talent in the series as he took eight-wicket haul in Tests and took a hat-trick in ODIs in his debut. Our tecake experts said that overall BCB chose balanced team as they gave chances to new faces with experienced campaigners.

BCB delayed his announcement by more than two hours as they said in a press release before announcements that it would take place at 1pm. The delay caused due to last minute discussions among the three-man selection panel which included president himself and a majority of board directors. But according to the BCB president and Farque, the team that was submitted by the selection committee held away despite the late discussions.

Bangladesh World Cup squad: Tamim Iqbal, Anamul Haque, Soumya Sarkar, Mominul Haque, Shakib Al Hasan, Mushfiqur Rahim, Mahmudullah, Nasir Hossain, Sabbir Rahman, Mashrafe Mortaza (capt), Taskin Ahmed, Al-Amin Hossain, Rubel Hossain, Arafat Sunny, Taijul Islam.

Tags: , , , , ,

Around the World