Software

How to avoid new privacy policy of WhatsApp

How to avoid new privacy policy of WhatsApp

The newly introduced privacy policy of WhatsApp has officially ended up being major concern for the privacy of the users and this modification has brought up several issues and criticism for WhatsApp along with legal cases and protestations.

What’s the new policy?

As per the latest modification brought by WhatsApp to its existing privacy policy, it will share the private information of the users including account details and phone number with its parental company Facebook, for enhancing the advertisements and product experience of Facebook.

Thus, the clients will begin getting more number of important advertisements and recommendations on Facebook. The approach additionally helps the clients to track fundamental measurements of the recurrence of services and the approaches to battle spam on WhatsApp in a better way. There are also several risks like leaking of information for the users’ mobile Operating Systems, country codes, carrier codes, screen resolution, and mobile number to Facebook.

Now a large number of people including several organizations are looking forward or the way to skip this upgrade in their systems. As WhatsApp has provided a ‘skip way’ to avoid this update, one can reject this modification on its system and WhatsApp account.

Just follow the method:

If you are using the latest version of WhatsApp app, then the notification for upgrading can be appeared on your screen anytime. If you find the alert option on your screen, don’t click on ‘Agree’ button. Click on ‘Read More’ option to get the detailed information about the policy and thereafter, simply uncheck the green box located in bottom of the page. A screen showing the option ‘Agree’ will flash and click on the button.

The upgrade will automatically be canceled. And no data will be shared with Facebook about your account and mobile number.

The company says in a blog post:

How do I choose not to share my account information with Facebook to improve my Facebook ads and products experiences?

If you are an existing user, you can choose not to share your account information with Facebook to improve your Facebook ads and products experiences.

There are two ways to do this:

Option 1

Before you tap Agree to accept our updated Terms of Service and Privacy Policy, tapRead.

 

You will see a control at the bottom of the screen. If you do not want your account information shared with Facebook to improve your Facebook ads and products experiences, you can uncheck the box or toggle the control.

 

Option 2

After you agree to our updated Terms of Service and Privacy Policy, you will have an additional 30 days to make this choice by going to Settings > Account > Share my account info in the app. If you do not want your account information shared with Facebook to improve your Facebook ads and products experiences, you can uncheck the box or toggle the control.

 

The Facebook family of companies will still receive and use this information for other purposes such as improving infrastructure and delivery systems, understanding how our services or theirs are used, securing systems, and fighting spam, abuse, or infringement activities.

See Also: WhatsApp shares contact details with Facebook: Truth or Myth

See Also: WhatsApp sharing data with Facebook: HC seeks govt reply

Around the World

Add Comment

Click here to post a comment

You Might Also Like