Periscope live streaming app TeCake

The live streaming app, Periscope has rolled out an update  for its iOS app. The updated app allows the users to block the spectator inconveniencing them.

The Periscope update 1.1.2 enables its users a better privacy when blocking a troll who has left nasty messages on a broadcast.

If a user blocks anyone’s message within a live stream then the message will start showing as blocked to only the particular user. However, they will not know that they have been blocked within the chat stream.

In addition, the company has introduced some more features including a way to get rid of the keyboard without being killing the broadcast, accidentally. the ability to edit their full name and a clearer sign-in process.

[alert variation=”alert-success” dismiss=”dismiss”]

What’s New in Version 1.1.2

-From your profile, you can now edit your full name (along with your description and photo).

-After tapping on a comment to block someone, that message will appear as blocked (to you only).

-Redesigned the featured users section, as well as the broadcast share sheet.

Other changes:

-When the keyboard is up, you can now swipe to get rid of it (previously, doing that would exit the broadcast).

-Your username is now visible from your profile.

-Fixed a bug that was causing messages at the beginning of a replay to get held up / out of sync.

-Fixed an audio encoder crash that was happening to certain people while watching a broadcast.

-Improved “Sign In” copy to clarify that you can log back in to an existing account (without creating a new one).

-Fixed a translation bug for Dutch users.

[/alert]

Commenting on its iOS update, the company says, “When we started building Periscope, our first idea revolved around a map. We wanted to be able to see anywhere in the world, but questioned whether we would have enough broadcasts for a map to be compelling. “What are the odds that anyone would even be live?” we asked ourselves. So we shelved the map, and promised to revisit the idea when it made more sense.”

Periscope lets its users to broadcast live video to the world. Going live will instantly notify their followers to join, comment and send hearts in real time. The more hearts a user get, the higher they flutter on the screen.

[alert variation=”alert-success” dismiss=”dismiss”]

Features:

REPLAY:
When your broadcast is over, you can make it available for replay so viewers can watch later. Viewers can replay your broadcast with comments and hearts to relive the full experience. Replays currently last 24 hours. You can delete your replay at any time.

PRIVATE:
If you want to broadcast to specific people, press the lock icon before going live and choose who you want to invite to your broadcast.

TWITTER:
You can choose to share your Periscope broadcasts on Twitter by tapping the bird icon before you start broadcasting. When you go live, you’ll tweet a link so that your Twitter followers can watch on the web (or in the app).

MANAGE NOTIFICATIONS:
Periscope will suggest people for you to follow based on your Twitter network. You can always follow new people, or unfollow them if you don’t want to be notified when they go live. You can also adjust notification preferences in Periscope Settings (in Profile)

HEARTS:
Periscope keeps track of how many hearts you get from your viewers. The more hearts, the higher you get in the “Most Loved” list.

[/alert]

Tags: , , , ,

Around the web

Around the web